Wednesday, 22 June 2011

Finland finally forms coalition government

Finland officially has a government again, praised be our Lord in Heaven. Here's the breakdown. National Coalition gets 6, Social Democrats 6, Left, Green and Swedish People's Party get two each. Christian Democrats get the Ministry of Interior. There are 9 women and 10 men.

Prime Minister Jyrki Katainen (NC)

Minister of Finance Jutta Urpilainen (SDP)

Foreign Ministry is divided as follows:
Foreign Minister Erkki Tuomioja  (SDP)
Europe and foreign trade Minister Alexander Stubb (NC)
Development Minister Heidi Hautala (Green)
Minister of Public Administration and Local Government Henna Virkkunen (NC)
Minister of Defence Stefan Wallin (SWE)
Minister of the Interior Päivi Räsänen (CD)
Minister of Justice Anna-Maja Henriksson (SWE)
Agriculture and Forestry Minister Jari Koskinen (NC)
Economic affairs Minister Jyri Häkämies (NC)
Minister of Transport Merja Kyllönen (Left)
Minister for Health and Social affairs Paula Risikko (NC)
Minister for Health and Social services Maria Guzenina-Richardson(SDP)
Minister of Education Jukka Gustavsson (SDP)
Minister of Culture Paavo Arhinmäki (Left)
Minister of Labour Lauri Ihalainen (SDP)
Minister for Housing and Communications Krista Kiuru (SDP)
Minister of the Environment Ville Niinistö (Green)

In case you are wondering about the two health ministers thing, there are actually three ministers working the same ministry. The official government website has the following explanation: Risikko, Guzenina-Richardson and Arhinmäki all work in the same ministry called the Ministry of Social affairs and Health. Guzenina-Richardson is in charge of the health services excluding actual medicinal affairs and pre-emptive care. Culture and sports minister Arhinmäki is in charge of matters of equal access to medical care. Social and Health minister Risikko is where the buck stops for all other matters pertaining to health.

From the same page, Foreign Ministry division of labour is as follows. With regards to the Chancellery of Government, Europe and foreign trade Minister Stubb handles the EU-secretariat matters, excluding Council of Europe summits, chancellery matters concerning the modification of EU-founding articles and governmental matters of appointment pertaining to the EU. He is also in charge of trade and Nordic co-operation related things. Development Minister Hautala is in charge of something called Ownership Steering, which basically boils down to governmental investments into developing countries. Other Foreign ministry matters are the responsibility of Foreign Minister Erkki Tuomioja.

All I can say is FINALLY!!

In other news, just so this post has something to do with the True Finns, three Left Alliance MPs, Yrttiaho, Mustajärvi and Kontula were rumored to consider joining the True Finns. When asked about it, they said "Trash", "Bullsh*t" and "No way", respectively.